The Easter/Spring Dress SewAlong

For a few weeks, I’ve been watching out for updates on the 2017 Easter/Spring Dress SewAlong, organised by Judith from Judith Dee’s World and Akram of Akram’s Ideas.

Being busy with lots of other makes had led me to hesitate but just this week I decided that Easter Sunday, perhaps the most joyous of our Christian celebrations, warranted a signigicant dress. We celebrate Jesus overcoming death and promising us life now and eternally, which is unspeakably wonderful!

My fabric was chosen to reflect this. The print reminds me of Easter lilies and has bright flowers on a dark background. It might not be a typical spring fabric choice but for me it seemed perfect. I bought it just this week at B&M Fabrics in Leeds (yes, again! I love their selection and the prices and customer service are amazing too) and it’s also available online at Abakhan.

The dress pattern is the Day Dress by The Avid Seamstress. Cutting out the fabric took a couple of hours as I attempted to match the print wherever possible.  To make this easier the skirt is cut from a single piece, slightly larger than the pattern calls for overall, so that the print matches the bodice at the centre front and at the centre back seam. It’s not perfect but I’m happy with it.

Sewing went quickly, and I followed the suggested construction with the exception of the gathering, for which I used two rows of long machine stitching at reduced upper thread tension rather than elastic. I used lightweight interfacing  (Vlieseline F220) for the neckline facings and overlocked all the raw edges with a three thread stitch, including the hems, which I then pressed about 2mm from the stitching line and machine stitched in place.

The zip went in without trouble, thanks to a combination of Wonder Clips, my faithful invisible zip foot and a chalk pencil to mark the waistline and neckline on the left zip tape once the right tape was stitched in place. I’ll write the method up soon in case it helps anyone else.

It’s cold today  (Easter Sunday)  so I’m wearing it with thermal tights and am quite cosy.

20170416_121553

 

Leave a Reply

