Spring Stripes

March has been another joyjul busy month of making. I’ve made and written up two of my Simple Sew projects, Bella (as seen here) and Veronika

There’s been a bit of a stripy theme going on too. I’ve been trying to boost my me-made jersey wardrobe and it all seems to be blue, striped or both. After making Bella there was enough of the gorgeous viscose jersey left to sew up a Molly top by Sew Over It, the pattern for which can be found in My Capsule Wardrobe: City Break by Sew Over It and in the Mollie Makes Big Comic Relief Crafternoon 2.

 

Here Molly is paired with a cute mini skirt by Jessica of Kommatia Patterns

which has just been released. I was part of the testing team for both this skirt and a jeans pattern.

Pattern testing is one of my great sewing loves and brings together skills that I’ve developed in various aspects of life and work. It’s such a privilege to be part of the process and helps develop links between designers and makers around the world.

High-waisted jeans wouldn’t have featured on my to-sew list were it not for this testing call, but I love them! I will almost certainly make another pair in a different shade or colour as I love them so much. I didn’t need to make any adjustments and they fit better than any jeans I’ve had for a long time. For the summer I’ll most likely make another pair in a lighter shade.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next came a lightweight sweater in a 70% organic cotton/ 30% combed cotton knit from Discovery Knitting. I used Jennifer Lauren’s Gable Top pattern and cut a size larger than my measurements suggested to give the ease that I needed. I’ll be making a few more in lighter weight fabrics as it’s such a lovely shape and will help me replace some saggy old t-shirts that really need to go! I recently discovered her YouTube channel too and have been catching up on past episodes while sewing.

Finally, I made two stripy scarves for my Mum and Mother-in-Law this weekend as it was Mother’s Day (or Mothering Sunday) here in the UK and I was short of ideas. The pattern – Skinny Minnie by lovely Lucy of Attic24 comes (again) from the Mollie Makes Crafternoon and is quick to work up in a selection of pretty Spring colours. I bought the suggested yarn – Batik DK by Stylecraft – and used Lucy’s stripe pattern for my Mum’s scarf and a variation for my Mother-in-Law that used more pink and purple.

I’d love to know what you’ve been making! Do please leave a link to your work in whatever form suits you.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Spring Stripes

Leave a Reply

