Pattern Review: Cocoon Jacket by Sew Different


Cocoon JacketSometimes the right pattern just comes along when you’re not really looking. I often call in at Emma Garry’s shop in Ilkley and love to see the fabrics and patterns that she chooses and creates.

When visiting a few weeks ago, I spotted a lovely sample of this jacket by Laura Casey at Sew Different, made up in a soft grey checked wool mix fabric. I had already bought some lightweight knit boiled wool from B&M Fabrics in Leeds and the two seemed made for each other. I purchased the pdf version of the pattern as it was somewhat cheaper, I wanted to start sewing and wasn’t planning another trip to Ilkley very soon.

This version is lined in lightweight denim from Fabric Godmother, with organic cotton pocket linings from CocoWawa Crafts.

I usually opt for paper patterns, although I’m starting to appreciate pdfs more. For an impatient stitcher, the instant availability of the pattern is a big bonus, despite the time needed to print, tape and cut or trace the pattern pieces (about which I’ll write more another day).

The instructions are sparse, so a beginner might need a little guidance; despite this the shaping and simple sleeves make it easy to construct. The neck is bias bound at the back and the front is lined; the only hems that need stitching are the back body and the sleeves, due to the lining (although I lined the cuffs which reduced hemming even further). The pockets are simple to insert and are a good size.

This style is smarter than my saggy crocheted cardigans but is still very cosy and matches virtually everything in my wardrobe. I enjoy wearing it so much that I have started cutting out another (and have found that it’s just about possible to cut two from 2m of 150cm wide fabric!).

Cocoon Jacket on mannequin

 

Leave a Reply

