Growing a handmade wardrobe

After a good few years of not sewing many clothes for myself -and often not being satisfied with what I had made – it has felt like a good time to start building up a handmade wardrobe again.

The pattern drafting I undertook at the start of the year gave me such a boost and helped me understand patterns better in general. Since then I seem to have spent a lot of my time searching through patterns, hunting for fabrics and combining them to create the clothes I would really like to wear.

Here are a few of the last few weeks’ creations, with some details on each one.

Notched JacketJersey jacket

The first jacket is made in a tweed-effect fabric  from Fabric Godmother using a Simple Sew pattern from issue 21 of Love Sewing magazine. It was quick to make and I chose to overlock the raw edges and then hand stitched the facings in place. It is a little snug as the fabric has almost no give to it with or across the grain. The second version is made from a textured jersey remnant from The Shuttle, a local fabric shop that is always full of surprises; I skipped the notch in the collar on this one as I wasn’t confident about how it would turn out with the fabric.

 

Stretch Denim Pencil Skirt

I haven’t been very adventurous with making skirts, sticking with an old A-line pattern from a Burda magazine that didn’t fit very well, so instead decided to try out New Look 6230 (which came with Sew Magazine) in a stretch denim from Fabric Godmother. Constructing the back vent was not as tricky as I expected thanks to the clear instructions. The waistband was slightly troublesome and is far from perfect but is generally hidden when I wear it!

This week I switched to sewing a couple of comfy summer tops in woven cottons. One is a print that I spotted on Instagram on Eternal Maker’s destash account and the other is a bubble cotton from Eme in Ilkley. The pattern comes from a Creativebug class by Fancy Tiger Crafts and comes as a printable pdf with a full video class. The only change I made was to hand stitch the facings in place as I find it gives a neater finish.

Sailor Top in Sewing Print Sailor Top in bubble cotton

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finally, to smarten up my selection of trousers for days when I’m facilitating antenatal classes in my work as a breastfeeding counsellor, or just want to look a little neater, I made a pair of The City Trousers by the Avid Seamstress. I’d seen the pattern on Instagram and it was perfect for the cotton sateen that formed part of a bundle I won late last year in a sewing photo hop.

It’s a beautifully written and packaged pattern, with video tutorials available for extra support (which I haven’t used). I made a few minor modifications, using interfacing in the waistband, hand stitching the waistband in place on the inside and grading the pattern pieces slightly over the hips. I’ve grown used to doing this as I don’t curve much at the sides and often find that trousers and skirts are baggy at the hips when they fit at the waist and legs. I’m delighted with the result and anticipate making at least one more pair.

City TrousersI plan to write more in a few days, telling you more about what making means to me, following a prompt from Kate at A Playful Day and the theme of ‘The Maker’s Year’.

See you soon!

5 thoughts on “Growing a handmade wardrobe

  1. Pingback: What making means to me | nelnanandnora

Leave a Reply

