Making to measure

For some time I’ve wanted to learn to draft sewing patterns, having gained some practice in altering commercial patterns for a better fit.

In January, everything seemed to come together to make it possible. For my 40th birthday in December, my husband gave me a subscription to Love Sewing Magazine, which included a copy of Chinelo Bally‘s Freehand Fashion book and my in-laws gave me a Creativebug subscription. I then learned of a planned sewalong on Textillia and so once the girls were back at school, I started watching Cal Patch’s classes to get some idea of what was involved.

It took me a while to get started but once I had my measurements, I drew out the t-shirt pattern fairly quickly and used some lovely soft jersey from Fabric Godmother to make my first top (which I’m wearing as I write).
IMAG1109

 

 

 

 

 

Next came a dress in cosy striped organic cotton interlock from Maud’s Fabric Finds, which I had bought at the Handmade Fair back in November. I had some trouble with the method I chose for gathering the skirt (using my overlocker) and would use a different technique in future. It was much more stretchy than the jersey and could have benefitted from some stabilizing tape or elastic in the seams but I like it nonetheless! It’s perfect for layering up on chilly winter days and the colour brings a hint of spring when the skies are grey.

Striped jersey dress

2 thoughts on “Making to measure

  1. Pingback: Growing a handmade wardrobe | nelnanandnora

Leave a Reply

