A Summer of Making

We’re getting ready for a new school term and I’ve hardly been at the computer long enough through the long summer holidays to write enough to share here. My ‘phone has tended to dominate and I’ve not yet got to grips with blogging on it!

Before we set off for our camping trip to the English Lakes and Northumberland, I did some last-minute sewing including this dress, drafted with a little help from a tunic pattern and some guesswork. I LOVE it and have worn it over and over again. It’s simple but warm and comfortable with leggings and – for cooler days – a t-shirt underneath.
Herringbone linen summer tunic

Derwent Water from Catbells

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We enjoyed the Keswick Convention, renewed and made new friendships, grew in our faith and explored the surroundings. This shop window (Textures) caught my eye and reminded me of Yarndale!

Textures Keswicj Window

 

 

 

 

We spent our second week in beautiful Northumberland, within walking distance of a beach. The weather was variable but didn’t stop us doing anything. On our elder daughter’s (the ‘Big Small’) birthday, we met up with grandparents and my husband’s grandmother (who has just turned 96; my Granny who is a little younger no longer feels able to travel much, understandably) and spent the afternoon at the Alnwick Garden.

Alnwick Garden Grand Cascade Dunstanburgh from Craster Alnmouth Sand MermaidWhile we were away, I continued with my wavy blanket and finally finished it, motivated by chilly nights and evenings. It’s quite small but is great for the tent or in a cosy chair at home.

Rocked by the waves

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I felt at home when I spotted these in the kitchen at Lindisfarne Castle!

Lindisfarne patterns Lindisfarne knitting basket

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The last two and a half weeks of my crafting have been dominated by a single project: the Harmony Blanket designed by lovely Lucy at Attic24.

I ordered the yarn pack on the day that it was released, received it the next day and finished it yesterday. It’s been an amazing experience and I have rarely, if ever, been so organized. I made each of the 14 sets of 9 squares, then started joining them systematically, sewing in the many ends along the way and it was worth the effort as once I finished the border there were just a few remaining to work in. It fits our sofa perfectly!

Harmony on the sofaIt’s getting late here so I’d better stop writing now. I’d love to hear what you have been working on during the last few weeks too.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Summer of Making

  1. Hello there Eleanor what a busy but lively time you seem to of had. The views on your retreat were breath taking as was the harmony blanket you made well done Pat on the back. Please do bring it to Coopers when you next visit I will love to see it in person. Have a good week and see you Friday 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

