Simple Shapes

Ikat Dress and Belt by nelnanandnora

Simple shapes are, for me, the most satisifying means of making garments, as you will have seen in earlier projects.

I bought this fabric a few weeks ago and was thinking about making some trousers or a play suit, but it is such a fine cotton lawn (from Fabric Godmother) that a change of plan was required. It is wonderful to work with and drapes so beautifully that the simplest of shapes seemed perfect.

Searching Pinterest for ideas led me to this tutorial from Elle Apparel. The only change I made was to use a single piece for the front and another for the back, rather than a separate bodice and skirt, and to stitch the elastic across the back of the fabric. In retrospect, it would have been much easier and more secure to stitch it to a seam as suggested in the tutorial…

The belt is made in Patons 100% Cotton 4ply (Fuschia), of which I had a small amount in my stash. A local store only had it in DK weight so I ordered more on Tuesday from the ever-fabulous Wool Warehouse once I could see that I didn’t have quite enough, and it arrived on Wednesday, allowing me to finish it by Thursday lunchtime. It is worked from a pattern by Anne Egan that was featured in issue 3 of Simply Crochet magazine.

Now all it needs is a little summer sunshine!

P1010587

 

One thought on “Simple Shapes

  1. Pingback: Me Made May week 4 | nelnanandnora

Leave a Reply

